>A thousand Splendid Suns

>A Thousand Splendid SunsA Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Not bad. But somehow the issues addressed (war, intolerance, sexism, oppression, discrimination, death, loss, self-denial, everlasting love)… it was too much. I would have gone with less is more. I mean, the war stories alone would have been tough. Or the domestic violence / oppression of women (or one in particular). I would have been okay to follow Mariam through her life. I wouldn’t have needed Laila and her story. And I thought the ending was a bit too much, I found it a bit… maybe not cliché but too sweet.

I think, had the narrator stayed in Mariam’s POV, that would have been so much better but that is just a personal feeling.

As a whole, I liked it more than I thought I would and it is definitely worth a read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

