>W.Shakespeare: Romeo and Juliet

>Romeo and JulietRomeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

How to phrase it… I obviously know the story, I have seen it the most amazing performance at The Globe and I think, that the style is so magnificent, nobody will ever accomplish anything like it.
But the story? It was never one of my favorite plays by Shakespeare. I never got the appeal of two kids (or teenagers if you will) being willing to die for each other. I always think: maybe you’d like to grow up and learn a little about life before you make such a decision, such as, that there won’t be another love for you. There isn’t really a subtext or layers to peal back as in his other tragedies or any other play I have read by him.
So, only 3,5 stars (I need a more subtle way to rate), while keeping in mind that compared to his other plays, this one is rather weak, but compared to any other playwright out there, Shakespeare still lacks a rival.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

