>Cormac McCarthy: The Road

>The RoadThe Road by Cormac McCarthy

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read this because I think that the movie is one of the best movies of the past 10 years, including the best performance of Viggo Mortensen’s career. So I was torn between not wanting to read the novel and wanting to read it.

In the end I am more than glad I read it. Not just because I now know that the movie adaptation for once truly captured a novel. But also because the book is magnificent. The style reflects the life of the protagonists (nothing really disrupts the dire routine). Their relationship is heartbreaking and I still love the fact that the focus stays on them, not on what happened and why and how because it is not important and I love that.

I recommend everyone to read the novel, to then watch the movie and then go down and embrace your loved ones.

View all my reviews

One thought on “>Cormac McCarthy: The Road

Leave a Reply

