>Book review

>Blindness Blindness by José Saramago

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Okay, here we go.

1. I absolutely hate the fact that there appearently is a sequel. I would probably not have read it had I known beforehand. Because in my opinion, the suequel totally diminishes the impact of the story. Do I want to know why the blindness came over the world? No. I want to make up my own mind.

2. I can make up my own mind, and I love that, because the novel is written in a fantastic style that contributes majorly to the claustrophobia (just imagine seeing everything white, as if you were lost in the deepest fog imaginable. It’s horrifying) and horror of the story and the events which take place in it. I can make up my mind because I am one of the blind people, according to the narrator (he or she says “we” very often and includes the reader). I can transform it onto the society I live in and apply it to the things we don’t see, because there are no names, just places and jobs and functions of people.

To sum it up: It was an exhausting read. It was a great read. But I am glad it is over and I don’t have to go back to that horrible place. (Except… there is a sequel…). Now I can watch the movie. 🙂

View all my reviews >>

Leave a Reply

